Organised by the IOP Magnetism Group
Co-sponsored by IEEE UK & RoI Magnetics Chapter


We are pleased to announce Magnetism 2014, a new annual conference on magnetism, magnetic materials and spintronics. This brings a particular focus to research in the UK and Republic of Ireland but attendees from elsewhere are also welcome.

Magnetism 2014 will include three main themes of thin films & nanostructures, correlated electrons and soft matter magnetism. However, the umbrella nature of the conference means we welcome all aspects of magnetic and spintronic related research. In future years the conference will adapt to reflect contemporary trends in magnetism. The full announcement is available here.

The conference will include the annual Wohlfarth lecture which acknowledges the contribution made by Professor E P Wohlfarth to the study of magnetism in the UK and world wide and his commitment to international collaboration in scientific research and magnetism in particular.

Conference highlights

  • Special plenary lecture from Professor Sir Andre Geim on Magnetic Phenomena in Graphene
  • Wohlfarth plenary lecture from Dr Atsufumi Hirohata, University of York, UK
  • IEEE distinguished lecturer plenary on Silicon Spintronics from Dr Ron Jansen, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Tsukuba, Japan
  • Invited talks from:
    * Professor Russell Cowburn, University of Cambridge, UK
    * Dr Mark Kief, Advanced Development Team, Seagate Technology, USA
    * Dr Tom Lancaster, Durham University, UK
    * Professor Chris Marrows, University of Leeds, UK
    * Professor Stefano Sanvito, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
    * Professor Andrew Boothroyd, University of Oxford
    * Professor Gabriel Aeppli, London Centre for Nanotechnology, UK
  • Poster prizes